h1

Scented ments

July 13, 2008

I used to collect notes of those rare gems of self-help tips in Cosmopolitan and Self that were both reasonable and actually helpful. If you’ve ever actually read Cosmo, you’ll see why these gems really are rare. In the few months I did it, I came up with these:

  • Thinking of all the times you did something makes you psychologically more apt to do it again. Like when you see a brownie and remember the last time you downed a whole plateful of brownies in 3 minutes. Remembering that your mind is playing a trick on you makes you less likely to go along with it.
  • Satin pillowcases prevent hair knotting and breakage.
  • It takes 28 days to break a habit and about 2 weeks for a diet to feel natural and cravings to subside.
  • A healthy weight loss goal should be to lose no more 1% of your body fat a week. That whole typical 2 pounds deal is standardized to people who actually weigh 200 pounds.
  • If someone is down, making him feel needed by asking for help on a task will cheer him up a bit.

While I was never very good applying the first one, I used to rock the last one on Pirate.

I’m pretty slow when it comes to music, so cut to me only discovering Kate Nash this week on Pandora.

Elle

Leave a comment